Tag Archives: Dancers in Mourning

The Evolution of Margery Allingham

The parallel lives of a writer and her detective.

Thanks to my guest, Julia Jones. Her biography of Margery Allingham is available now through all good bookshops.

Mentioned in the episode:
Margery Allingham: A Biography by Julia Jones
The Crime at Black Dudley by Margery Allingham
— Blackkerchief Dick by Margery Allingham
— Mystery Mile by Margery Allingham
— Dancers in Mourning by Margery Allingham
— Coroner’s Pidgin by Margery Allingham
— The Tiger in the Smoke by Margery Allingham
— The China Governess by Margery Allingham
Look to the Lady by Margery Allingham
The Beckoning Lady by Margery Allingham
The Fashion in Shrouds by Margery Allingham
Traitor’s Purse by Margery Allingham
The Oaken Heart by Margery Allingham
The Relay by Margery Allingham
Hide My Eyes by Margery Allingham
The Mind Readers by Margery Allingham
Sweet Danger by Margery Allingham
Death of a Ghost by Margery Allingham
Fifty Years in the Fiction Factory by Julia Jones

Related Shedunnit episodes:
— Margery Allingham Waits for the Invasion

NB: Links to Blackwell’s are affiliate links, meaning that the podcast receives a small commission when you purchase a book there (the price remains the same for you). Blackwell’s is a UK bookselling chain that ships internationally at no extra charge.

To be the first to know about future developments with the podcast, sign up for the newsletter at shedunnitshow.com/newsletter.

The podcast is on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram as @ShedunnitShow, and you can find it in all major podcast apps. Make sure you’re subscribed so you don’t miss the next episode. Click here to do that now in your app of choice.

Find a full transcript of this episode at shedunnitshow.com/theevolutionofmargeryallinghamtranscript

Music by Audioblocks and Blue Dot Sessions. See shedunnitshow.com/musiccredits for more details.

Margery Allingham Waits For The Invasion

For Albert Campion’s creator, the war was her salvation. This is the third episode of Queens of Crime at War, a six part series looking at what the best writers from the golden age of detective fiction did once that period came to an end with the start of the Second World War. There are… Continue Reading